Navigating the FATF Grey List and Blacklist

The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) plays a pivotal role in combating money laundering, terrorist financing, and proliferation financing worldwide. As part of its efforts, the FATF maintains two key lists: the Grey List and the Blacklist. This guide provides an in-depth overview of these lists, including their significance, current jurisdictions listed, and implications for AML compliance.

Understanding the FATF Grey List:
The FATF Grey List comprises jurisdictions under increased monitoring due to strategic deficiencies in countering financial crime. These countries actively collaborate with the FATF to address these deficiencies. Current jurisdictions on the Grey List include:

– Barbados
– Bulgaria
– Burkina Faso
– Cameroon
– The Democratic Republic of Congo
– Croatia
– Gibraltar
– Haiti
– Jamaica
– Mali
– Mozambique
– Nigeria
– Philippines
– Senegal
– South Africa
– South Sudan
– Syria
– Tanzania
– Turkey
– Uganda
– The United Arab Emirates
– Vietnam
– Yemen

Nicaragua and Pakistan have recently been removed from the Grey List.

Understanding the FATF Blacklist:
The FATF Blacklist identifies high-risk jurisdictions subject to a call for action. These jurisdictions exhibit serious deficiencies in combating financial crime. The current jurisdictions on the Blacklist are:

– Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK)
– Iran

Additionally, enhanced due diligence measures are advised for Myanmar.

Implications for AML Compliance:
Grey and Blacklists serve as crucial references for compliance professionals. Firms must screen clients against these lists and implement risk-based processes, particularly when dealing with entities operating in listed jurisdictions. Given the dynamic nature of these lists, regular screening and due diligence are essential components of AML compliance programs.

Key Compliance Measures:

  1. Screening: Regularly screen customers against both Grey and Blacklists to identify any potential risks associated with their jurisdictions.
  2. Customer Due Diligence (CDD): Implement robust CDD processes to accurately verify the countries where clients operate, especially in Grey or Blacklisted jurisdictions, requiring enhanced due diligence (EDD).
  3. Transaction Monitoring: Employ real-time transaction monitoring solutions to detect and report suspicious transactions involving entities from listed jurisdictions.

How Ahrvo Comply Can Assist:
Ahrvo Comply offers an advanced AML compliance platform that enables comprehensive client risk assessment and activity monitoring. With Ahrvo Comply, you can confidently navigate regulatory requirements, including screening against FATF lists, and ensure compliance with AML regulations. Contact us today to schedule a complimentary demo and discover how Ahrvo Comply can enhance your AML compliance efforts.

Compliance Products